We made Neil’s Gap, AKA Mountain Crossings yesterday. We had to hold up at the Hiker Hostel in WOody Gap and wait for the weather to clear up. Ice slowed us down but we’re picking up the pace. I’ll post more as time and signal access permit.

Mike Hanson

10 Responses to “”

  1. lisa Says:

    Sounds CCCold! Keep it up, we’re thinking about you!

  2. frank Says:

    glad to hear that you are making progress.

  3. Sue Says:

    Hope you’re enjoying your hike! You’re actually doing what I could only dream of doing.

    I’ll be watching your progress. Best of luck!

  4. Kevin Says:

    Hi Mike,

    ….like an enigma through the much traversed labyrinth of trails calloused and fatigued. In a maze with an end, trudging
    through bittersweet memories and hope with the aroma of each turn comes new and amazing challenges for you to conquer.

  5. Jo Ann Says:

    Great to hear you’re on the trail! My mom wants you to shoot another turkey so she can cook it, and you’re welcome to come fishing on Lake Minnetonka anytime. Goodluck, friend!!!

  6. Meredith Says:

    Sherlock Holmes and Matthew Watson were on a camping and hiking trip.

    They had gone to bed and were lying there looking up at the sky. Holmes said, “Watson, look up. What do you see?

    “Well, I see thousands of stars.”

    “And what does that mean to you?”

    “Well, I guess it means we will have another nice day tomorrow. What does it mean to you, Holmes?”

    “To me, it means someone has stolen our tent.”

  7. Warren Says:

    I am really interested in your hike, and the courage you have shown in undertaking it. It is a big challenge from what I’ve read. It makes me feel I can do more than I’m doing.
    I’ll be watching your progress on the map.
    ………..Warren
    Niagara Falls, Canada.

  8. Fred E. Says:

    Sounds great, looking forward to more updates!

  9. Joanne Chack Says:

    Whoo Hooo! Alyssa and I are thinking of you day and night. Looking forward to meeting you by the Water Gap in NJ! Keep coming Mike! One step at a time!

    Joanne and Alyssa

  10. Lee Perry Says:

    Mike,
    I am looking forward to your AT adventure. In 2003, my best friend hiked the AT and while following his adventure via telephone conversations, I got started following hikers on Trail Journals. I am not a hiker but have put many foot prints in wilderness areas as a map maker with US Geological Survey.

    I wish you GOOD LUCK and Happy Trails.

Leave a Reply

